Fortnightly review

Okay, so for our first fortnight of $100 to fuel had $25 left over, and the $200 for the shopping… well… it was a bit weirder, but for a first effort I think it was pretty good.

I knew we’d done some extra shopping, and I don’t think I calculated everything in, because we only ended up being around $50 over… maybe it was right, maybe it wasn’t, but from now we’re keeping ALL the shopping receipts, regardless of how they’re paid for. I’ve tweaked the app in my phone to be for shopping only, so I can just deduct expenses straight from that too – to take the market vegetables and eggs into account. We’ll see how that goes over the next two weeks.

The bank accounts are *almost* open and set up on internet banking, so now it will be a matter of transferring everything over to the new account. I’ll start tomorrow. Little bit by little bit, but I’ve only got a month left until I go away, so I really need to pull my finger out and get it started. I should start with a list I think, on my phone, so I can tick them off as I go.

Meal planning this week was a success I must say. I’m very pleased that we stuck to it, and we used what we had. I don’t know if we’ll keep it up, but it’s a good start. We’ll need to do another list for the next week, but I’ll worry about that tomorrow night I think – it’s late night shopping. Or for Saturday.

Things to do for the next fortnight:

  • keep all grocery receipts
  • make a list of all of my expenses that need to be changed over to the new account
  • do meal planning for 5 days – remember lunches!
We’ll see how that pans out… hehehe

 

Leave a Reply

